Major Choices

Picking a major in college wasn’t that hard for me. I knew since I was 10 years old that I wanted to be a psychologist and luckily for me, that’s worked out so far. I absolutely love my major. The weird thing was for me, I didn’t know what to minor in.

Worrying over a minor seems so silly, after all it is only a minor. But, psychology is a field where majoring in it isn’t enough. Unfortunately, a degree in psychology won’t get you many places. So, I spent my freshman year of college wandering through human development classes, biology classes, and pretty much racking my brain. In the last month of classes and the day before I actually had to sign up for the next semester, I chose to minor in neuroscience.

brain

In all honesty, this post is inspired purely because this choice scared the pants off of me. Neuroscience was a scary area of study, it was definitely a science field, it involved chemistry, math, and oh, the most complex part of the body. It was terrifying but as I asked my adviser how to go about pursuing it, I felt so strong. I had chosen to study the one thing that actively interested me but more importantly would challenge me.

There is a quote that goes like this, “everything you want is on the other side of fear” and I feel like it describes picking a major or minor perfectly. Sometimes what drives us, what we are passionate about, is the thing that is going to challenge us the most but maybe that is why it will be the most rewarding.

Leave a Reply

